Ties! For girls!

So here is a little trick I picked up from a mannequin at Brooks Brothers. It took a little practice to perfect, but now it is one of my absolute favorite looks and is a huge head-turner and conversation starter: the lady’s tie!

The Lady's Tie!

I happen to like wearing a pink tie for this look because I think it provides a really nice juxtaposition. Of course you can use any knot you like; I prefer a Pratt knot.

The Pratt knot is a medium-sized knot. I like a medium knot for this look to balance out the flare at the bottom of the tie. The Pratt is also a symmetrical knot that has two side-dimples, not a center-dimple. I am a stickler for tie-knot-symmetry! The key to this look is switching the tail lengths (if, at the beginning, the wide end of the tie should be 12 inches longer than the skinny end, switch this so the skinny end is 12 inches longer than the wide end). After tying, you will have an extremely long, skinny tail to deal with. I simply tuck the tail into my shirt between the top two buttons and it’s out of sight all day!

I wore a great fuchsia and white checkered tie with a classic black suit and white blouse this week. I went to a happy hour with my husband and his friends couldn’t get enough of the tiny tie! Try this for a truly unique look that will get you noticed!

OOTD 4-18-2012
Find items I wore online!

Brooks tailored dress
$159 – brooksbrothers.com

Floral shoes
$60 – macys.com

Maybelline cosmetic
$6.99 – drugstore.com

Chanel waterproof eye liner
$30 – nordstrom.com

NYX lip makeup
$5.50 – nordstrom.com

Fresh lip treatment
$25 – neimanmarcus.com
Leave a Reply

